#### GRADUATE COUNCIL

# Minutes of the Meeting of April 12, 2016 3:30 p.m., The Loft of the Guillot University Center

The Graduate Council met on Tuesday, April 12, 2016, at 3:30 p.m. in The Loft of the Guillot University Center. Dr. Leah Whitten, Chairperson, presided. The following members were present: Dr. Paulette Alexander, Dr. Lynn Aquadro, Dr. Carolyn Barske, Dr. Joy Borah, Ms. Neysa Brown, Dr. Chris Maynard for Dr. Carmen Burkhalter, Dr. Greg Carnes, Mr. Zack Crowell, Dr. Wendy Darby, Dr. Melvin Davis, Dr. Donna Lefort, Dr. Sandra Loew, Ms. Cassie Morgan, Dr. Amber Paulk, Ms. Celia Reynolds, Dr. Craig Robertson, and Dr. John Thornell. Attending as guests were Dr. Cynthia Burkhead, Ms. Hillary Coats, Dr. Francis Koti, Dr. Brent Olive, and Dr. Beth Sewell.

### Approval of the minutes of the meeting of February 9, 2016

Dr. Paulk moved approval and Dr. Barske seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.

#### Report from the Graduate Advisory Council

Dr. Maynard provided a Recruiter update and an overview and opinion from the Graduate Advisory Council on the proposal for revisions to the Graduate Faculty Composition and Selection Policy.

Request from Graduate Advisory Council for Revisions to Graduate Faculty Composition and Selection Policy

Dr. Loew made a motion and Dr. Paulk seconded the motion to approve the proposal with the following revisions: replace Presidential approval of the Graduate Faculty appointment with the Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost and add a requirement that Graduate Faculty who are appointed without a terminal degree but with special expertise must be reappointed every five years. The motion was approved unanimously.

## Consideration of Graduate Faculty Applications

Enclosed is an updated list showing which faculty have made application for the "By Appointment" positions on the Graduate Faculty. Only will the "By Appointment" faculty on the enclosed list require nomination. Following approval, a memorandum will be sent to each appointed faculty member indicating his/her appointment for the three-year period.

Dr. Alexander moved approval and Dr. Barske seconded the motion with the understanding that associate deans will now serve in a By Position placement, faculty appointed without a terminal degree but with special expertise will serve a five-year term, and faculty with a terminal degree will have a permanent appointment. The motion was approved unanimously.

# Consideration of revised Graduate Council Composition

The Graduate Council is composed of the following: two graduate faculty from the College of Arts and Sciences; two graduate faculty from the College of Business; two graduate faculty from the College of Education and Human Sciences, two graduate

faculty from the College of Nursing: one graduate faculty from Professional and Interdisciplinary Studies; and five graduate student representatives, one each from the College of Arts and Sciences, Business, Education and Human Sciences, and Nursing, and one from Professional and Interdisciplinary Studies. The Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost or designee, the Director of Graduate Studies, all deans, the Registrar, the Dean of Library and Educational Technology Services, and the SACSCOC Accreditation Liaison will serve as ex-officio members of the Council.

Dr. Barske made a motion and Dr. Paulk seconded the motion to approve rolling the positions into the College of Arts and Sciences appointments. The motion was approved unanimously. Following further discussion, a subsequent motion was made by Dr. Paulk, seconded by Dr. Darby, and unanimously approved to remove the Interdisciplinary and Professional Studies faculty and student representatives but add the Chair of the Department of Interdisciplinary and Professional Studies as an ex officio member of the Graduate Council.

Consideration of nominations for Graduate Council representatives due to the expiring terms of:

Ms. Pamela Boren (COEHS student representative)

Mr. Lloyd Broadfoot (CAS student representative)

Ms. Neysa Brown (CON student representative)

Ms. Jill M. Chambers (PRS student representative) – removed per action above

Mr. Zack Crowell (COB student representative)

Dr. Sandra Loew (Education & Human Sciences)

The College of Education and Human Sciences nominated Dr. Chanho Kang for the expired term of Dr. Sandra Loew. For the student nominations, the college deans made the following nominations: Mr. Seth Armstrong – Arts and Sciences, Mr. Zack Crowell – Business, Ms. Stephane Bolton – Education and Human Sciences, and Ms. Neysa Brown – Nursing. No further nominations were made. Dr. Paulk moved approval and Dr. Darby seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.

# Information Item: FS 500 grading scale (SP/UP instead of S/U)

This was an information item that required no action from the Council.

Request from the Department of Geography for revisions to admissions requirements and course requirements of the M.S. in Geospatial Science degree program

Dr. Loew moved approval and Dr. Barske seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.

Request from the Department of Music for new courses: MU 557 and 655

Dr. Barske moved approval and Dr. Aquadro seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.

Request from the Department of English for deletion of EN 551, course description revisions of EN 552, EN 564, 611, 612, 613, and 614, new course EN 504

Dr. Darby moved approval and Dr. Paulk seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.

Request from the Department of Secondary Education to revise course descriptions: ED 515, ED 581, ED 601, ED 610, ED 661, ED 662, ED 663, ED 664, EDS 701, EDS 702, EDS 703, EDS 704, EDS 705, EDS 708, EDS 709, IL 690, IL 691, IL 692, IL 693, IL 694, IL 705, IL 706, IL 707, IL 709, IL 710 and IL 711

Dr. Paulk moved approval and Dr. Barske seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.

Request from the Office of Educator Preparation to create continuous enrollment policy and new course: XXX 679/779

Dr. Darby moved approval and Dr. Loew seconded the motion with a minor revision in that upon the recommendation of the Registrar, the grading would be S/U instead of SP/UP. The motion was approved unanimously.

Request from the College of Arts and Sciences for a \$10 per credit hour CAS course fee to replace the current structure of course fees (replaces all other CAS course fees) – this proposal was pulled by the College of Arts and Sciences on 4-20-16 after it did not pass at the undergraduate level (Curriculum Committee)

Dr. Barkse moved approval and Dr. Darby seconded the motion. Following an extensive discussion on the pros and cons of such a course fee method, Dr. Paulk made a subsequent motion that was seconded by Dr. Darby to approve the proposal with the understanding that the course fees must provide for classroom and equipment needs as well as other costs associated with instruction and learning and would also allow the other three colleges to opt in to the same arrangement if so desired after further study in each college. The motion was approved by a vote of 8 for, 0 against, and 1 abstention.

Upon motion by Dr. Darby and second by Dr. Paulk, the meeting adjourned at 4:45 p.m.

Leah Whitten, Chairperson	